Editing tips by Sylvia Stein

The best advice I ever got as a writer was to wait and edit my draft once I was through writing it. Then begin on the revisions. This way I could see if the story made sense. I can’t tell you how important this piece of advice helped me with the editing process. This is why I wanted to share this with you today.

Next, is to make sure to find a great Editor. It is important to invest in this step. How do I know you may ask? I will tell you. Back when I wrote my second book a YA entitled, Chasing Clarity. I had to go back and revise so much of the mess which was not done by my an editor I thought could do the job. Not to say she did not have so much going on. But, I should have not just gone by hearsay. After this happened, I have learned my lesson.

I was more concerned about keeping up with my book released. I did not take the time to look at my final edits. Luckily, I had another colleague/ author who pulls me aside a day before the event. She worked with me to get my manuscript to where it needed to be.

This led me to change the release date and although it took a few weeks more than what I wanted. I was so grateful to have taken this advice. It is for this reason that as an editor, I give my all the manuscripts I read. It is important to work with the authors. I always asked them to read the work back.
I want them to be sure to agree with the changes or suggestions. I want us to be on the same page.

It is important to take the time to review and work together. To be sure the author’s voice shine through the story. Working with our authors is what I love about editing for Stitched Smile Publications. We have an amazing team here. Additionally, we always have our weekly meetings which only enhance our skills even more.

Finally, I will end the post with some advice on the book by author Amy Peters. It is entitled, “The Writer’s Devotional.
“A good editor makes sure the language is tight: not too flowery and not too staid. They make sure that each piece of writing has a “voice”, a unique cadence or rhythm. In the end, editing is about making sure the fluidity of the words shine through in the story you are creating.

Leave a Reply

