Your opinion counts

As a reader and blogger, I have the amazing opportunity to interact with incredible authors. We talk about many things, such as marketing, books, publishing and reviews, but one of the most important things and that is reviews.

For those of you who don’t understand reviews, let me make it simple. A review is nothing more than your opinion of the book. It is also one of the most important things you can do for an author. It lets other readers know if they want to read the book. It helps put the book into suggestions. It changes the ranking of the book. It lets the author know that they are doing a good job and what the reader is looking for in a book. Every review of a book is important. It matters not if it is a long or a short review. They are all so important.

This is your chance to let your author know that he has done an amazing job in telling a story; that you loved the characters. That you were mad his book ended because you wanted more of the story. Now I will be the first one to say I have read some bad books. That being said, I have always tried hard to find something nice to say but there are times when you just can’t do that so what do you do? I personally do not leave a review because I don’t want to hurt the author. I will contact them and talk to them about the book. I know that is not for everyone but being how I am asked to read a lot and blog my reviews I try to nicely tell them what I had a hard time with about the book. More often than not they want to know these things so they can write better stories. This is a learning and growing thing for them as well.

If you absolutely can not bring yourself to write reviews then at least always give a star rating. Believe me, they will appreciate it more than you know.

Last but not least please tell your friends, family, neighbors and anyone that will hold still long enough about the books you read and love, you just might be the reason they pick up a book and read. That’s something I’m willing to be guilty of are you?

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

